Lisa-Marie Kaspar

Prof. Erich Schöls

Interactive media
Dean

erich.schoels@fhws.de

After training as a process engraver, Erich Schöls studied visual communication at the Hochschule für Gestaltung Schwäbisch Gmünd.

As a member of Doublespace Inc. in New York City he was already concentrating on digital information design in 1990. From 1993–2000 he was partner and managing director of Wekemann+Schöls GmbH in Stuttgart, from which he subsequently founded artismedia GmbH.

After teaching at various design schools in Germany and abroad, he was appointed professor at the Faculty of Design in Würzburg in 2000, since when he has headed the area of interactive media. He was vice dean from 2001–12 and head of the master programme from 2014–19. He was appointed dean of the Faculty of Design in 2019.

In 2011 he co-founded the In-Institut IDIS (Institute of Design and Information Systems) with the Faculty of Computer Science and Business Information Systems, and has been its director since 2012.

Since 2004 Schöls has headed the Steinbeis Research Center Design and Systems, which he established to explore the application of interdisciplinary research and development in the area of digital information and communications media

Erich Schöls regularly lectures in Germany and abroad.

Lisa-Marie Kaspar

Prof. Erich Schöls

Interaktive Medien
Dekan

erich.schoels@fhws.de

Nach einer Lehre zum Druckvorlagenhersteller studierte Erich Schöls Visuelle Kommunikation an der Hochschule für Gestaltung Schwäbisch Gmünd.

Als Mitarbeiter bei Doublespace Inc. in New York City konzentrierte er sich bereits 1990 auf das Gebiet der digitalen Informationsgestaltung. Zwischen 1993-2000 war er Gesellschafter und Geschäftsführer der Wekemann+Schöls GmbH in Stuttgart, aus der im Anschluss die von ihm gegründete artismedia GmbH hervorging.

Nach mehreren Jahren Lehrtätigkeit an diversen Designhochschulen im In- und Ausland wurde er 2000 als Professor an die Fakultät Gestaltung der Hochschule Würzburg berufen, wo er seitdem den Studienschwerpunkt »Interaktive Medien« leitet. Zwischen 2001 und 2012 war er Prodekan und zwischen 2014 und 2019 Studiengangsleiter für das Masterprogramm. Seit Wintersemester 2019/2020 ist er Dekan der Fakultät Gestaltung.

2011 gründete er das zusammen mit der Fakultät Informatik/Wirtschaftsinformatik betriebene In-Institut IDIS (Institut Design und Informationssysteme), dessen Leitung er bis 2012 innehatte.

Seit 2004 leitet er das von ihm etablierte Steinbeis-Forschungszentrum Design und Systeme, welches sich mit der angewandten, interdisziplinären Forschung und Entwicklung im Bereich der digitalen Informations- und Kommunikationsmedien beschäftigt.

Erich Schöls hält regelmäßig Vorträge im In- und Ausland.

Sommersemester 2021

Kommunikationsdesign (BA)
Designprojekt
Schwerpunktprojekt

Echtzeitgesellschaft

Interdisziplinäres Seminar mit Studierenden der Fakultät Informatik/Wirtschaftsinformatik
Montag
14:15 - 17:30
Raum: I.0.1